Reliance Mobile Vijay Awards on February 4, 2007 at 11:00 on Vijay TV

February 2, 2007 at 5:24 pm Leave a comment
February 2, 2007

The stars of Kollywood came to the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium on December 23, 2006 at the presentation ceremony of Reliance Mobile Vijay Awards – ungal favorite yaar. Kamal Haasan, Vikram, Vijay, Trisha, Shriya, Khushboo, Sathyaraj, Cheran, K.S. Ravikumar, SP Balasubramanyam, S Janaki, Prabhudeva, Prabhu, Dhanush, Sarath Kumar and many more graced the occasion by their presence.

Reliance Mobile Vijay awards; the first awards ceremony is the first of its kind in south India. It is for stars chosen by their best jury – the audience. Reliance Mobile Vijay Awards progressing in three phases: the nomination stage, the voting stage and the presentation ceremony.

The nomination stage, as reported by us, saw a van, aptly titled Rasigan Express, travelling across 9 cities in Tamilnadu, registering nominees for the 9 categories. A total of over ten million votes were received, indicating the overwhelming response. In the next stage, the nominees for each of the categories were announced and the viewers got another chance to cast their vote to make their favorite star a winner. Weekly updates on voting trends were given by Yuhi Sethu.

The eminent jury panel, comprising eminent film critic Madan, critically acclaimed filmmaker Balu Mahendra and popular actress Rohini supervised the counting and gave the results. The jury also introduced 10 additional jury special awards for excellence in other related disciplines.

The award for the favorite Female Playback singer was given to S. Janaki; while S.P. Balasubramanyam won the award for the favorite Male Playback singer. Kamal Haasan’s Devar Magan was awarded the Reliance Mobile most Favourite Film; and K.S. Ravikumar won the award for most Favorite Director. The popular comedian, Kovai Sarala, presented the award for the Most Favorite Comedian to Vivek. The gorgeous damsel Trisha, who has won the hearts of her fans, was given the award for Most Favourite Heroine by popular director Dharani. The Nokia Most Favourite Hero was given to Ajith . Ajith, A.R. Rahman, who won the Most Favourite music Director, and Prakash Raj, who was chosen as the Most Favourite Villian, were not present at the function due to previous commitments.

As part of the special awards, Vijay TV proudly announced the first ever “Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award for Excellence in Cinema” to Padmashree Kamal Haasan; for his immense contribution to Tamil cinema. After a closed ballot voting amidst the film fraternity; the jury was proud to present the ‘TVS Star City – Superstar of Tomorrow” to none other than rising star Vijay. Vikram was honoured with the “Youth Icon of the year”.

To add to the already sizzling oomph; the show featured two ravishing dance performances of the sexy Yana Gupta from Bollywood. For the first time in India, the show witnessed the performance of a Malaysian Tamil hiphop band Yogi B and the Natchathira Boys LIVE on stage. Ragasiya, Lakshmi Rai and Priyamani added that extra quotient of style with their dancing. The stars of Vijay’s two most popular shows, Airtel Super Singer and Garnier Fructis Jodi No. 1, also performed on stage

This star-studded awards ceremony will be telecast on February 4, 2007 at 11.00 a.m., only on Vijay TV. Part of the ceremony, namely the ‘Red carpet special’ will be telecast on February 3, 2007 at 7.00 a.m.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

One good turn deserves another Pokkiri- Rajni Happy, Vijay gloomy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 26,874 hits

%d bloggers like this: